My trip to Batu Caves on Thaipusam.

DSC_0008

After 20 years of living in Malaysia, I finally visited Batu Caves. I visited Batu Caves during the Thaipusam. It’s very uproarious and a grand celebration. The place was beaming and brilliantly luminous. There were more than hundred thousands of people and travellers from around the world,┬ácome together┬áto be part of the hustle and bustle activities of Thaipusam.

DSC_0013

Behind me, is the entrance to the shrine, Batu Caves and the Lord Murugan statue. To reach the cave, visitors must climb a steep flight of 272 steps.

I advanced myself through the 272 steps, with a negligible distress of heights, I did alright and made it to the cave.

DSC_0028

Devotees carry containers containing milk as offering to Lord Murugan either by hand or in huge decorated carriers on their shoulders called ‘kavadi’.

DSC_0031 DSC_0037 DSC_0038 DSC_0039 DSC_0046 DSC_0049 DSC_0055 DSC_0058

I definitely was luxuriate in culture and I had a great time.

Leave a Reply

